NSE News - Latest Corporate Announcements

Sunday, May 30, 2010

European Union: May 18,2010: March 2010 External Trade Surplus 4.5 billion Euro

European union consist of two set of countries EA(Euro Area) & EU (European Union)
EA16 includes: Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland.

EU27 includes: Belgium, Bulgarai, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain,  France, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden and United Kingdom

The EA16 nations have adopted the common currency (Euro) while the other EU27 have not yet completely integrated (currency) into the european union. As per the latest stats provided by the european union as of May 18,2010
EA16 Trade balance for the month : March 2010: +ve 4.5 Billion Euro (+ve 1.6 billion Euro March 2009)
EU27 Trade balance for the month : March 2010: -ve 7.1 Billion Euro (-ve 9.2 Billion Euro March 2009)

EA16 Inflation:  April 2010: +ve 1.5% (+ve 0.6% April 2009)
EU27 Inflation: April 2010: +ve 2.00% (+ve 1.3% April 2009)

EA16 Industrial Order Index: March 2010 +5.2%
EU27 Industrial Order Index: March 2010 +ve 5.9%

Conclusion: Be a contrarian investor and look at the Euro and the Euro region as an area of growth. This would be a good to time buy Euro for the long term.

PN: these are my personal views based on public info available at the european union statistics website (Link)

No comments: